Vegan for a Day!?

1 Feb

Today is a very special day.

Not really, but 2 exicting things have happened today a) I’m back from my holidays :) and b) for the first time ever (can you believe it!!!!) I have eaten vegan for a whole day :0

I really enjoyed my weekend break and a upcoming post will be all about that soon…

Anyway onto the more exciting news (for me anyway); my vegan meal plan:

Breakfast

One of Chocolate Covered Katie’s Baked Oatmeal cakes (I added banana to mine). Check out the recipe here http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/04/01/breakfast-bars-on-the-go/ , I also enjoyed a bowl of red grapes and macadamia nuts with a green tea

Mid morning my snack was some roasted seeds

Lunch

A Wholemeal tortilla wrap with banana and PB and some roasted pistachios on a (vegan) buckwheat muffin

For an afternoon snack I some soy beans and millet porridge (recipe coming soon)

Tea 

oriental ‘kebabs’ with quinoa and tomatos as a side

here’s the recipe :) (full of superfoods) :

serves 4

75ml light soy sauce

75ml unsweetened orange juice

1 tbsp vinegar of choice

1 tbsp sesame oil (or similar)

1 minced garlic clove

2 tbsp coriander

2 tbsp ginger

optional: 1/2 tsp chili powder

prepare the above ingredients into a marinade

24 Brussel sprouts

450g tofu (cut into 1 inch cubes)

20 mushrooms

1 onion, cut into wedges

Marinade the above in the marinade you just made and soak for upto an hour. Thread the ingredients onto 4 large wooden skewers and grill for 7-10mins turning regularly  

 

Have you ever tried vegan foods?

let me know in the comments

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

